Seasons Greetings

2016-12-21-18-21-41

Another year almost over and what a year it has been.  A trip down a step (no alcohol was involved)  back in July has seen me incapacitated for the past 5 months and while walking is now possible, if only for short periods, I am sure that 2017 will bring a steady recovery.

Being largely confined to the house for such a long time has meant that I have spent  much more time than usual browsing the Web and using various social media sites.  I have always tried to avoid spending too much time on the internet as it’s not good for you, is it?  Actually, I now have a completely different view as the ability to connect with people and events without leaving the house has been heaven-sent.  Instead of an actual holiday, I have visited and in many cases taken part in activities (on-line of course) at galleries, museums and other heritage attractions all over the world, this is something I would never have considered doing before.  I have even joined a couple of on-line communities that share my interests in the arts and heritage.

One of these groups is called Makelight (https://makelight.com/) run by husband and wife team Emily Quinton and Stef Lewandowski.  Makelight is a photography studio who teach all aspects of the medium but with a special focus on social media and small businesses, particularly Instagram.  The Facebook group Makelight Community (it is a closed group, so membership  by application request only) is full of friendly and supportive people sharing their interest in photography and learning from each other along the way.  I am still a fairly passive group member but seeing the different posts, pictures and requests for advice and subsequent answers really makes a difference to the day and promotes a sense of belonging.

As a result of my membership of this group I have decided to join in with is a 365 photo project and will be trying to take one interesting photo everyday during 2017.  I will post my picture on Instagram (https://www.instagram.com/paisleypedlar/) daily and try to do a weekly round up of images on this blog.

A very Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to all, here’s to a brighter and better 2017!

About paisleypedlar

Artist, Sewist, sometime Cyclist and Arm Chair Activist
This entry was posted in Art, art and design, photography, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Seasons Greetings

  1. Cedric de la Nougerede says:

    I wondered what had happened to you. Sorry about the leg but happy that you are up and about again. I answered a challenge earlier in the year, to put a different photo of wildlife on my Facebook page, every day for seven days. Nice thing to do.
    Very best wishes for a quiet Christmas and an active New Year.

Leave a Reply

