Dabbling with Daubing – Day One

So after much umm-ing and ahh-ing I have finally got my act together and begun my first painting for a very long time.  So as to make things even more challenging for myself I have decided that it should be a fairly “small” painting, so I have primed up an old canvas measuring 120cms by 140cms – there’s nothing like a bit of scale to shake up the mix!

blank canvasPrimed and ready to go!

So at the end of the first day I now have a lovely big white canvas covered in paper stencils of the various things which will make up the overall composition taped in place with masking tape and some very light pencil markings to denote where the final placing of the objects in the composition will be.

I don’t want to give too much away as to the actual subject matter, but I will say that the piece will be worked in blue and white only.  That’s quite enough for today, so here is a sneaky peek at what exists so far…

stencil 1

stencil 2

 

About paisleypedlar

Artist, Sewist, sometime Cyclist and Arm Chair Activist
This entry was posted in acrylic painting, Art, art and design, drawing, drawing and painting, mixed media collage, oil painting, pencil drawing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

