Projects, projects, projects – hankys

Recently I seem to have had several small projects on the go at once.  The other day my friend Kate had a birthday and I really wanted to give her something personal.  I had already bought her a small craft related gift from a recent visit to the Whitchurch Silk Mill in Hampshire, but I still felt she deserved something more personal, the question was.. what? I was leafing through a crafts magazine when I spotted a project to decorate a hanky.  Perfect!  Now I feel that when you set out to make someone something you should try to make as much of it as possible, so I had a root through my fabric stash and found some Turban Cotton (a lovely soft fine weave cotton fabric) which I then cut into a 30cm square, finished the edges and then set about thinking up what to embroider on it.

Kate has a lovely bright red Pashley vintage-style bicycle and enjoys riding it round the lanes and by the canal near her home, and this is what I decided should go on the hanky.  I drew up a vintage bicycle design and traced it off onto greaseproof paper using a nifty Transfer Pencil that I had bought recently.  Now the design can be ironed directly on to the fabric (and reused in the future) ready for embroidering – just like the old style iron-on carbons you used to get for embroidery designs in magazines back in the day!  Once finished I embroidered the words “I like to ride my bicycle” on the opposite edge and added a trim round the edge of the hanky.  Ironed flat, it looked crisp and fresh and I think made a lovely gift when wrapped in soft tissue paper.  I was so happy when Kate texted me the following day to say how delighted she was with it!

bike    words

My hand embroidered hanky

 

About paisleypedlar

Artist, Sewist, sometime Cyclist and Arm Chair Activist
This entry was posted in Art, art and design, Books, Crafty things, cycling, drawing and painting, embroidery, Fashion, Fine Art, hand embroidery, machine embroidery, My Work, Quirky things, sewing, stitching, textile art and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Projects, projects, projects – hankys

  1. Katie says:

    Lovely, lovely Gill, it is such a wonderful present, I cant tell you how special it it, I am at last home today and have been looking at it again, I love the spokes on the bike and how they sit slightly away from the fabric, its fab, Im hoping to take Poppy out to see the blue bells today, I shall carefully fold my hanky and slip it in my pocket. Thankyou Gill xx
    P.s I used the scissors yesterday they are brilliant ! xx See you soon

Leave a Reply

