8 Responses to Steal Like an Artist

  1. Seems like this book really inspired and motivated you, I absolutely love books like that!

  2. T. A. Morrow says:

    Thanks for this! 🙂 Reminds me of something Andy Warhol once said about making art…something along the lines of ‘just do it and get it out there’…

    • ….and how right he was! But y’know sometimes it can be difficult to get past the white page syndrome, I just need to grasp the nettle!

      • T. A. Morrow says:

        re: the ‘white page syndrome’…. I saw a show on tv about a celebrity portrait artist… basically, she delt with this issue by scribbling a mark over the canvas initially. Her idea about it was ,,”it can only get better from now on”! 🙂

  3. …this sounds like a good idea. I have recently begun using a spiral bound sketchbook instead of the traditional stitched/glued spine type. I then snip through the perforated holes to remove some pages, work on them and then replace them. Somehow for me simply removing the page from the book helps. Maybe I’m just odd! 🙂

  4. This book sounds great. I want a copy. And I can totally relate to what you just said about sprial bound notebooks! I have lots of pretty hardback sketchbooks I don’t use. But plenty of little sprial bound ones that i use all the time – i like the option of being able to throw away a page that is rubbish. sketch books shouldn’t be precious!

    • I know exactly what you mean. I throw away lots of ideas that simply didn’t work out, although I know that loads of other folk hang on to everything just in case. S’pose it’s different strokes for different folks. But the book is fantastic!

Leave a Reply

