All the Bells

All the bells in a country rung as quickly and loudly as possible for 3 minutes; Work 1197 by Martin Creed.

This morning I dragged my husband out of bed and made him get on his bike – literally!  I wanted to take part in the All the Bells art project and didn’t know anyone else nearby that was doing it, and obviously I didn’t want to do it on my own… so poor long-suffering husband reluctantly became part of a living artwork and history.

My bike (Dorothy) and ‘friend’ waiting for the All the Bells ringing

My original intention was to ride around the perimeter of the village where I live ringing my bicycle bell for the 3 minutes.  Because recently I have been working on restoring a vintage bike, I did think it would be nice to use this machine; and because it is about 60 years old it would also fit in really well with the whole Jubolympics (Jubilee/Olympics) thing.  After working my socks off to get it back together again after several months in pieces, sadly I fell at the last hurdle as the replacement brake blocks were too big to fit, and obviously not having brakes is quite dangerous!

Beryl (the 60 year-old) BSA Ladies Safety Shopper – without brakes!

Back to Plan A, and my trusty Dorothy vintage-style bike.  Off we pedalled reaching the footbridge over the by-pass road that skirts the village, waiting for the magic moment of 08.12hrs… and then ring-ring-ding-ding for the full 3 minutes followed by a ride back down the cycle track ringing madly!  Even this wasn’t without a setback, and after all that ringing the bell on my bike has broken! Oh well, the best laid plans and all that, but it was good fun

Both of the bells!

 

About paisleypedlar

Artist, Sewist, sometime Cyclist and Arm Chair Activist
This entry was posted in Art, cycling, Expeditions and adventures, memorabilia, Museums and Galleries, My Work, Out and about, Quirky things and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to All the Bells

Leave a Reply

